39 Packard 120 advice

cooter9

Do you have any more pictures? Engine photos, dash, and underbody would be helpful.

My general guess would be somewhere in the 25k range, but that's just a wild guess.

Good luck with this Cooter. I would be interested in knowing specifics of the mechanics (what's been done) on this car.

Looking at a similar 40-120 here that a friend has had for a long time. New paint & mechanicals, what has been done is done right, but it is not a frame off (nose was removed, though) and it will need an interior. I was thinking 8 - 10 grand on that one. Advantages include knowing what he started with (little rust) and total confidence in his abilities, disadvantages include expensive interior and chrome work remaining.

I am not a Packard expert but have been pricing the 120s in particular also. I would think if you got the above car for around 12K or even a couple grand more you would be doing very well. Correct or not the interior looks really nice, woodgrain, chrome, tires, etc. all look good. Price this against a '39 Ford sedan - mid low teens seems fair enough to me.

Steve

Keep in mind that running boards (replacing the rubber) done correctly for that car will cost just under $1,000, if your boards are in good shape to begin with.

I agree with you, it's a lot of car for the money, and you can't restore them that nice for what they're worth when you're done (but then, not many cars are).

Good points, West. I did not take running boards into account on the car I am looking at - I am sure it will need them, though, along with perhaps other small things that add up. It is not yet fully road ready.

That said this is another example of the car ready to go being the best deal nearly always. Cooter, if that car could be bought in the 10-12K range and you decide to pass on it - please let me know smile.gif