Advice on buying a 1955 Starfire 98 convertible

DSMtuned

Hello. I'm new to the board here.

I may buy a 1955 Olds Starfire 98 convertible. I am new to classic cars, but want to work on maintaining this one for my father-in-law who comes to the States 2-3 times each year, but loves owning classic cars.

The problem is, I have no idea where I should start the negotiations as far as price on buying this car. I'll let you know the general condition. Please let me know what you think would be a fair place to start.

The car has been repainted and the paint is in pretty good condition. There are a few quarter sized rust spots where the paint has chipped off. There is a 1/2" deep dent that is as big around as a basketball in the rear quarter panel. The rear bumper has been pushed into the rear body work and caused a crease about 8" long. The interior appears original and is cracked, but all pieces are still there. The windshield has two vertical cracks from top to bottom. I have yet to drive it or even hear it run. The engine has a few oil leaks, but really nothing major. The VIN number on the engine and the body are different, so the engine has been replaced. The top is unzipped and water and leaves have been pouring in the back, so the interior is pretty dirty. The top has a 10" rip in it.

Let me know what you think. I was thinking of offering like $8000. Does that seem about right?

I appreciate your help!!

_Craig