Rebuilding Packard Engines

Guest Rojo22

Guest Rojo22

Hello everyone. I havent been on the forums in about two years and I am glad to see that the Packard folks are still active. I need help and advice from the experts. Here is the scenario:

1. I have purchased a 1955 Packard Clipper (Four Door)

2. I have ZERO experience doing engine work

3. I love working, and dependable equipment, and I am very safety concious

4. I dont want to put a "mouse" under the hood ( I live too close to AlK, and he can hunt me down...LOL)

5. I would like to put the original engine back in the car (it is removed)

6. I have plenty of 1955 core engines laying around for parts

7. I am not a rich guy

So my fear is doing something stupid or expensive, or both. I dont know if taking a Packard engine to a rebuilder in my home town (Atlanta, GA) is the right thing to do, because I am not sure about placing the engine in someones hands who says there isnt much difference between doing any other type of engine. I would also like to get some advice on other things to do during the engine rebuild that would be a good idea while I have the engine out of the car. I am not the thin skinned sensitive type, and I certainly dont mind being talked down too....So please start with the basics, because it is what I am looking for.

Guest Randy Berger

ROJO22, First welcome back, glad to have you. Any friend of Al's can't be all bad.

No one is going to talk down to you for legitimate questions. You should probably talk to any rebuilder and ask him his opinions. If he won't take time to discuss it with you, he probably wouldn't take the time to rebuild it right.

Does he have facilities to boil out the block.

Ask about putting in all new valves with hardened valve seats.

Does he check the tension in all the valve springs.

If you have later engines for parts, use the rockers and shafts from a 56 V8.

Have the block itself checked for being true.