Packard Paddy Wagon

Hi,<BR>I am trying to authenticate a Packard Paddy Wagon. I have confirmed the VIN with Packard and it is their frame. Any ideas who the coach builder would have been? Thanks for any ideas you can send my way.

Tunebug: Post the VIN # This will give us a frame of reference(year of vehicle etc). The only coachbuilder that I know that handled Packard professional type cars was Henny(ambulances, hearses and such) but I am by no means an expert.

The paddy Wagon Body could have been built by just about anyone. Being in 1925 that there where a lot a custom body companies small and large. Is there any plate on the body indicating who might have built the body. Chances are that you have a one of. Unless there is a build plate it might be almost impossible to telll who built the body.

I must have missed something...someone..I hope..can explain this all to me...about VIN's..in 1925. There is SO much I need to learn from you young folks about automotive technology and terminology.<P>Back here on Planet Earth Packard did not have a VIN in 1925..NOone had a VIN in 1925..or '35...or '45...or '55....because VIN's did not come in, until the 1960's. as part of Federal legislation.<P>Packard, as is the case with all automotive manufacturers complying with the "Uniform Compact Of State Motor Vehicle Comissioners of 1924", used ENGINE numbers for identification. BODY numbers could NOT be used for legal registration. My old records are still packed away, so I have no way of identifying this number. I do not recall what year in the mid 1960's...the Motor Vehicle Act that gave birth to the VIN system came in.

Hmmm...so much to learn..I see our friend TUNEBUG has "confirmed his number with Packard". Damn..now THAT ( contacting Packard....is a neat trick..wish I knew how to do that.....)