Right or Wrong?

First let me say that i absolutely enjoy these forums on "Collectable Automobile Discussion Form" (all of them). I find myself most of the time exactly between "Chuck" and "hvm". I am a believer in "correctness" in judging but I believe that unless you (the judges) are specially trained in the makes you are judging you may be out of your league. I have no direct knowledge of the judging procedures of any of the national clubs. I had my car judged at a car event in Winnipeg in the sixties and I will never have a car of mine judged ever again. Let me tell you why. Friends of mine, fellow members of my club judged my car a 1930 Pontiac Custom Sedan. This car was original and at that time was still owned by its original owner (My Grandfather). They took points off because it had varnished spokes in the wheels, a two blade fan and the door handles were not the same as Chevrolet. It has taken me almost 40 years to locate original sales literature and brocures to prove these guys were wrong. I believe (and certainly hope) that judges today have progressed far in fourty years. I think that some of the cars restored specifically for judging meets are fantastick and I wouldn't knock their owners in any way. However I have driven my car over 470,000 miles in fourty-three years. I have changed a few internal things when I had to as originals were not available. Until my c&p became toothless in August it was my daily driver. I do not think that I will ever restore my car as I get so much fun out of useing it all the time. My point in this post is that there is lots of room here in these forums for all of us and all of us can pick up something now and then from someone else. I hope that people are able to keep beyond personal and stick to mechanical. These forums are second only to driving my car as a source of personal pleasure.<BR>Happy Hobbying To All. smile.gif" border="0