Thread: 1953 Buick Roadmaster Brake Trouble, Need HELP

1953 Buick Roadmaster Brake Trouble, Need HELP

Hi everyone
    I have a 53 Roadmaster with power brakes that are very sensative, if you apply the brake in a normal fashion it will stop right away and lock the wheels. If the pedal is depressed very slightly the car will slowly stop.

Has anyone had this issue before? Is there an adjustment in the linkage or brake booster?

Thanks
    Steve

Email: steveclassic@earthlink.net

Re: 1953 Buick Roadmaster Brake Trouble, Need HELP

Do you have the original 1953 troublesome Kelsey-Hayes Model 6 C-100 power brake cylinder or the one that replaced them, during the "campaign" (recall), the Delco-Moraine unit that was used with the 1954 Buick power brake system?

Al Mack
    "500 Miles West of Flint"
    Last edited by 1953mack; December 11th, 2011 at 21:20.

Steve,
    I haven't worked on '53 power brakes, but on the manual brakes and on the '55 power brakes, there is a threaded stirrup just in front of the master cylinder, that can be adjusted forward or backward, to increase or decrease the amount of travel of the linkage.
    Are you sure you don't have two wheel cylinders locking up or a partly blocked brake hose?
    Pete Phillips, BCA #7338

V-8-I too am restoring a 53 Roadmaster but have not gotten into reassembly yet. I did read over the power brake section today and did not find any reference to too sensitive power boost in the brake troubleshooting section so it must not have been much of a problem when the cars were new.