Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 2nd, 2005   #1
mct
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Just Classic Auto--Scam or real offer to buy?????

Has anyone heard of this company??--they are trying to buy my car and want to send me a cashier's check for more than the amount of vehicle and have me refund $$$ to the 'shipping agent' for costs--sounds like a scam [color:\\"red\\"] [/color]
mct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2005   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: pa.
Posts: 2,834
Re: Just Classic Auto--Scam or real offer to buy?????

sounds like a scam!!
__________________
Official member of the L.S.S. I know it's misspelled, they only let me use 16 letters
nearchoclatetown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2005   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cheyenne, WY, USA
Posts: 1,042
Re: Just Classic Auto--Scam or real offer to buy?????

It is a scam. Don't get involved. Walk away from it.
D Binger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2005   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 665
Re: Just Classic Auto--Scam or real offer to buy?????

Go ahead, Take the deal. Thats just what you need,to pin up on your garage wall, An uncollected certified check from the bank of Nigera
Roger Walling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2005   #5
Super Moderator
 
Steve Moskowitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hershey, Pa.
Posts: 3,488
Images: 3
Re: Just Classic Auto--Scam or real offer to buy?????

SCAM, SCAM, SCAM....RUN, DON'T WALK AWAY FROM THIS DEAL!! Way too many people are getting sucked in to this type of scam...I have had several calls in my office over this and have thankfully stopped a couple of deals from happening.
Steve Moskowitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2005   #6
Senior Member
 
sixpack2639's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC Coast
Posts: 756
Re: Just Classic Auto--Scam or real offer to buy?????

I have had a couple of emails like this for the 67 Rolls Royce i'm selling for my buddy. I replied to their emails with this:
"I will accept cash (US Dollars) or a cashiers check drawn on a major US bank for only the amount of purchase of the car and any checks will require a 14 day waiting period for the check to clear. The car will not be released or paperwork signed until check clears. You will have to deal with your shipper yourself. I will make myself available to the shipper for when the car is to be picked up only. If this is acceptable to you please feel free to contact me again."
I haven't heard from them again. Carl
__________________
I have been known to be wrong. Just ask my wife!

AACA #800180 http://www.aaca.org/
BCA #41308 http://www.buickclub.org/
AACI #55 http://www.aacint.com/
CC&TCB #100 http://www.classiccarandtruckclubofbeaufort.org/
51 Buick Special 41D
60 Karmann Kabriolet
65 Mustang Hardtop
81 Olds Delta 88 Royale
sixpack2639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2005   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: West Chester, Pa
Posts: 54
Re: Just Classic Auto--Scam or real offer to buy?????

Phi-Scamma-Jamma......with the amount of info available I have a hard time believing anyone falls for this anymore, but apparently they do. I would love to see an internet video of one of these so called "agents" on the wrong end of the law...wonder why no one has set up a sting operation .
imported_Giftman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2005   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 665
Re: Just Classic Auto--Scam or real offer to buy?????

Many of these scams operate out of Nigeria and the goverment does not want to stop them as they are very profitable. In fact goverment officials are involved in many of them.
Roger Walling is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 18:49.